The mission of The Department of Afro-American Research Arts and Culture to identify the global significance of the creative contributions pioneered by an international diaspora of Blackness
Search DAARAC's Archive

Wednesday, January 16, 2008

Gladys Knight & The Pips - Pipe Dreams (1976)

1. So Sad The Song
2. Alaskan Pipeline
3. Pot Of Jazz
4. I'll Miss You
5. Nobody But You
6. Pipe Dreams
7. Everybody Got To Find A Way
8. I Will Follow My Dream
9. So Sad The Song (Instrumental)
Gladys Knight starred in this Alaska-based love story. The album features a number of distinguished arrangers, including Michael Masser (also responsible for Diana Ross' underrated 'Mahogany' soundtrack), Bubba Knight and the great Dominic Frontiere (take a listen to the fabulous Brannigan main theme, sadly never issued on LP). Much of the album is standard Pips material and lacks depth, often descending into lounge jazz-tinged soul. The album features one stronger funk track, a slower guitar-based jam called 'Alaskan Pipeline'. An album for completists.