The mission of The Department of Afro-American Research Arts and Culture to identify the global significance of the creative contributions pioneered by an international diaspora of Blackness
Search DAARAC's Archive

Friday, January 18, 2008

Don Julian - Shorty The Pimp (1973)

1. Shorty The Pimp
2. Message From A Black Man
3. Vato's Brew
4. Schoolin' & Foolin'
5. Super Slick
6. Brother What It Is
7. (Ooh Baby) I Love You
8. Show & Tell
9. Check Your Mind
10. Hell Below
11. Just Tryin' To Make It Pt. I
12. Just Tryin' To Make It Pt. II
13. A Woman Ain't Nothing But A Stone Trip
14. Respect Yourself
15. Inner City Blues
16. I Love You
17. My Cherie Amour
18. The Look Of Love
19. Win Your Love
A new addition to the blaxploitation catalogue, this album from Don Julian & The Larks was never issued in its entirety through Money Records, unlike their Savage soundtrack LP. The theme and several other tracks from this album were issued as singles. The film itself is equally obscure and never saw a cinema release. It is rumoured that Quentin Tarantino owns one of the few remaining prints, in which Don Julian's band take a starring role. The music is a great mix of appropriate cover versions and small group funk with a 'lounge' edge compared to the Savage LP. The original tracks, particularly the theme, make this album worth buying. Note that many of the tracks were previously unissued.