The mission of The Department of Afro-American Research Arts and Culture to identify the global significance of the creative contributions pioneered by an international diaspora of Blackness
Search DAARAC's Archive

Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Roberta Flack - Bustin' Loose (1981)
Certainly one of the lesser sorts of soul soundtracks that you'll find, and an easily overlooked Roberta Flack record consisting of tracks for this low-budget comedy with Cicely Tyson and Richard Pryor. The music's mostly in an electric modern soul vein -- even the instrumental bits -- and arrangements are by Barry Miles, Marcus Miller, Buddy Williams, and Roberta herself -- who also produced the album. Titles include "Love (Always Commands)", "Lovin You (Is Such An Easy Thing To Do)", "Rollin On", "Qual E Malindrinho", and "Hittin Me Where It Hurts".

01 Lovin' You (Is Such An Easy Thang To Do)
02 Rollin' On
03 You Stopped Loving Me
04 Just When I Needed You
05 Qual E Malindrinho (Why Are You So Bad)
06 Love (Always Commands)
07 Children's Song
08 Ballad For D
09 Hittin' Me Where It Hurts

Thanks to: Isbum and Rocket From Mars