The mission of The Department of Afro-American Research Arts and Culture to identify the global significance of the creative contributions pioneered by an international diaspora of Blackness
Search DAARAC's Archive

Monday, January 14, 2008

Billy Preston & Syreeta - Fast Break (1979)

1. Go For It (Theme From "Fast Break")
2. Welcome To Cadwallader (instr.)
3. More Than Just A Friend
4. With you I'm Born Again (instr.)
5. He Didn't Stay
6. With You I'm Born Again
7. Books And Basketball (Montage, instr.)
8. Half Time (instr.)
9. The Big Game (instr.)
10. Go For It (Disco)
Don't miss this bargin bin album from Billy Preston and Syreeta if you like a late 70's funk sound. David Shire, the man behind the classic funk score to 'Taking Of Pelham 1-2-3', writes several noteworthy disco-funk cuts for this basketball movie including the great 70's gameshow-style instrumentals "The Big Game" and "Books And Basketball". The theme "Go For It" was a big hit at the time.

Charles Earland - The Dynamite Brothers (1972)

1. Betty's Theme
2. Never Ending Melody
3. Grasshopper
4. Shanty Blues
5. Weedhopper
6. Razor
7. Kungfusion
8. Snake
9. Incense of Essence
Charles Earland's only soundtrack attempt is often overlooked, and was originally issued in relatively small numbers on Prestige. Don't miss it - it's a raw, organ and flute driven psychedelic funk monster. Entirely instrumental, the best track is the insistent "Kung Fusion".

Curtis Mayfield - Superfly (1972)

Disc 1:
1. Little Child Runnin' Wild
2. Pusherman
3. Freddie's Dead
4. Junkie Chase (Instrumental)
5. Give Me Your Love (Love Song)
6. Eddie You Should Know Better
7. No Thing On Me (Cocaine Song)
8. Think (Instrumental)
9. Superfly
10. Freddie's Dead (Theme From 'Superfly') (Single Mix)
11. Superfly (Single Mix)

Disc 2:
1. Ghetto Child (Demo Of 'Little Child Runnin' Wild')
2. Pusherman (Alternate Mix)
3. Freddie's Dead (Instrumental Version)
4. Junkie Chase (Instrumental) (Full-Length Version)
5. No Thing On Me (Cocaine Song) (Instrumental Version)
6. Militant March
7. Eddie You Should Know Better (Instrumental Version)
8. Radio Spot #1
9. The Underground (Demo)
10. Check Out Your Mind (Instrumental Version)
11. Radio Spot #2
12. Curtis Mayfield (On Superfly Film & Songwriting)
Curtis Mayfield's finest moment. The beauty of his music completely contradicted the violence inherent in the film. The album features too many good tracks to mention; "Pusherman" and "Eddie's Dead" sound as fresh today as when they were first recorded.

Donny Hathaway & Quincy Jones- Come Back Charleston Blue (1972)

1. Main theme
2. Basie
3. String segue
4. Vegetable wagon
5. Harlem dawn
6. Scratchy record
7. Explosion
8. Hearse to graveyard
9. Switch "Charleston Blue"
10. Come back Basie
11. Detective's goof
12. Gravedigger Jones & Coffin Ed's funeral
13. String segue
14. Little ghetto boy
15. Hail to the queen
16. Drag queen chase
17. Bossa nova
18. Tim's high
19. Furniture truck
20. Liberation
21. Come back Charleston Blue
An interesting but not entirely satisfying album from Quincy Jones. This LP features one of Donny Hathaway's finest songs, 'Little Ghetto Boy', a moving track of such beauty that it deserves a much wider audience. The rest of the LP is an uneven mix of short traditional jazz and funk instrumental tracks.